RECAP: The Stellar Awards 2012 in Nashville

(from left) Co-host Dorinda Clark-Cole, Kirk Franklin, and co-host Marvin Sapp rejoice and dance at the 2012 Stellar Awards. (Photo: Rick Diamond/Central City Productions & The FrontPage Firm)

The MorningChurch team did its first live tweeting event from the 2012 Stellar Awards in Nashville, TN, on January 14, 2012.  This year, the awards were hosted by Dorinda Clark Cole and Marvin Sapp, with Akintunde as the shows comedian.

Kirk Franklin opened the show with an amazing medley, complete with a large string section as accompaniment. For the first award of the evening, newcomer from BET’s Sunday Best, Yanna Crawley, won the best new artist award. We were then treated to a tribute to John P Kee by singers like Isaac Caree. “There would be no Kirk Franklin if there was no John P Kee,” said Kirk Franklin during his presentation.

Richard Smallwood and singers gave a beautiful performance of “Trust Me” only to be matched that evening by groups James Fortune and FIYA and William McDowell’s “I Give Myself Away” later that evening.

The highlights of the evening for me were two performance mash-ups not typical of the Stellar Awards. The ladies kicked it off- Kim Burrell, Leandria Johnson, Jessica Reedy and Martha Munizzi shared the stage for a power packed vocal performance. Not to be out done, the guys of hip-hop, LeCrae, DaTruth and Canton Jones did an amazing performance where people of all ages were on their feet, nodding their heads in rhythm, and then simultaneously transitioning into worship- simply, amazing!

The event’s pivotal and selfless moment came from Kirk Franklin, who shared his award for Song of the Year for “I Smile” with writers Darius Paulk and the night’s big winner, Vashawn Mitchell, for “Nobody Greater,” commenting that their song really impacted his life this year.

Ricky Dillard and New G closed the show with a number that was only matched vocally by its visual presentation! The Stellar Awards made a lot of production changes this year in terms of flow, set design and even details such as adding background singers to the house band, to name a few, which made the entire presentation more enjoyable to the live audience. I’m sure these changes will be noticed in the TV presentation as well.

The two hour airing of the event will be in syndication from January 21-26th in 130 local markets and on cable television’s GMC, in prime time, premiering on February 11th, 2012.  To get an advanced peek of the award winners, scroll below.



2012 Stellar Award Winners

Artist of the Year
VaShawn Mitchell

Song of the Year
“I Smile” | Kirk Franklin

Male Vocalist of the Year
VaShawn Mitchell

Albertina Walker Female Vocalist of the Year
Kim Burrell

Group/Duo of the Year
Mary Mary

New Artist of the Year
Y’Anna Crawley

CD of the Year
Kirk Franklin | Hello Fear

Choir of the Year
Mississippi Mass Choir

Producer of the Year
Kirk Franklin for Hello Fear

Contemporary Group/Duo of the Year
Mary Mary

Traditional Group/Duo of the Year
The Rance Allen Group

Contemporary Male of the Year
VaShawn Mitchell

Traditional Male of the Year
Smokie Norful

Contemporary Female of the Year
Kim Burrell

Traditional Female of the Year
Beverly Crawford

Contemporary CD of the Year
Kirk Franklin | Hello Fear

Traditional CD of the Year
Smokie Norful | How I Got Over: Songs that Carried Us

Urban Inspirational Single or Performance of the Year
VaShawn Mitchell | “Nobody Greater”

Music Video of the Year – Short Format
VaShawn Mitchell | “Nobody Greater” (VaShawn Mitchell)

Music Video of the Year – Long Format
Deitrick Haddon | Church on the Moon

Traditional Choir of the Year
Mississippi Mass Choir

Contemporary Choir of the Year
Shekinah Glory Ministry

Instrumental Gospel CD of the Year

Moses Tyson, Jr. | Music Remastered & Sacred Organ

Special Event CD of the Year

Bishop Paul Morton | Bishop Morton Celebrates 25 Years of Music

Rap, Hip Hop Gospel CD of the Year
Lecrae | Rehab: The Overdose

Children’s Project of the Year

Teen Pure N Heart | Pure N Heart Live

Quartet of the Year

The Rance Allen Group

Recorded Music Packaging of the Year
Martha Munizzi for Make It Loud (Martha Munizzi)

Praise and Worship CD of the Year
VaShawn Mitchell | Triumphant

Spoken Word CD of the Year
Selah | Look At You Loving Me


Major Market
KJLH 102.3 FM – Los Angeles

Medium Market
WLOU 1350 AM – Louisville, Ken.

Large Market
WHAL 95.7 FM/1460 AM – Memphis

Small Market
KOKA 980 AM – Shreveport, La.

Internet Gospel Radio Station of the Year, Chicago, IL

Gospel Announcer of the Year
John Hannah – WGRB, Inspiration 1390, Chicago, IL

Event dates and/or times are subject to change. Events are also subject to cancellation. Check with the event coordinator/promoter before making travel arrangements or before heading out to any event. Morning Church Announcements is not the promoter of events listed and is not responsible for the accuracy of event information or event refunds.


Related posts:

Profile photo of Kaisha About Kaisha

Speak Your Mind